# of bets in a season

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• # of bets in a season

Since JR Miller has come up in this forum recently I wanted to ask all the pros what they thought of one of his approaches to betting.

He says that it is better to have as many bets as you can if you have an edge on each one. This seems logical but others have said he pays too much in juice over the entire year.

What do you think?

I'm not a pro but I am a very successful part-timer. I agree with JR on this one. I bet any game where I think I have an edge of more than about 2 percent.

What JR is saying is that it's better to bet 200 games where your edge is 5 percent rather than 50 games where your edge is 10 percent. In the former case betting $100 a pop you'll have a profit of $1000. In the latter case you'll make $500. Makes sense to me.

The amount of juice you pay is immaterial. Only the profit matters.

'mute

Comment

HelenKeller,

Agree with JRM and 'mute. I'd even play the board with any edge per game. If I have a positive expectation per game, what juice? I'm turning the BM into a player and he still runs the risk of having his doors blown in.

Comment

I agree but it never hurts to hear other opinions. I thought maybe I was missing something important. I guess not. Thanks

Comment

I feel it really depends on what stage you are in as a sports bettor and gambler. I think if you are new to sportsbetting or new to betting a specific sport, I think the wise approach is to focus in on figuring out what constitutes a high percentage play. Along the way you will have a large number of losers just in the learning process. Once you get more knowledgable about betting the sport, than you can work yourself backwards, and start throwing in some lower percentage plays to create volume. I am a firm believer that is far better too error on the conservative side than the agressive side.