Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is betting the RL -1 1/2 +juice a sucker bet?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is betting the RL -1 1/2 +juice a sucker bet?

Baseball newbie here.

Is betting the RL -1 1/2 +juice a sucker bet?

Seems like a good deal to me. You get the favorite team PLUS the added juice. Sure you have to cover the -1 1/2 but are there that many games that the favorite only wins by 1?

Must be. Can't be any easy wagers.

It's like anything else......there are good and bad bets when laying 1.5 runs. I'd say more bad than good.

Sharp players tend to take +1.5 runs more often than laying the runs.

You'd have to convert the run line into a moneyline to see if there was any value either way. That can be tricky, as the run line is dependent on many things....such as the total in the game, home/away, etc.etc.

Baseball (like all sportsbetting) is strictly a mathematical game. Run lines are set with the probabilities in mind.

In general, laying 1.5 runs to avoid paying the high juice on the fav isn't advised. (laying the high priced fav isn't advised either)

Comment

Yeah, I guess I'm learning that playing a steady diet of value underdogs is the way to go in the long grind of MLB.

It's just that on the surface it seems that most favs would win by 2 or more. But the stats must prove otherwise. I'll try to find some.

I guess a number of favs win by 1 and if you add those to the number that lose SU, it makes the RL -1.5 a bad deal in the long run. Maybe you gotta find the favs with the hot bats. But that will all be baked in and they would pay less juice I suppose.

No free lunch in the wagering world. But at least Sports gaming is a much more a level playing field than the "legal" stock market. There's where you'll find the cheating, manipulation and corruption, where some big players have significant advantages over other investors. Inside info, dirty tricks, naked short selling, etc.

Comment