Big Brown Preakness

$60 in actual member picks FREE from Docs Sports! - Complete with a PROFIT GUARANTEE! Click Here

Top Sportsbooks


PIMLICO, MAY 17, 2008

It should come as no surprise that Big Brown, the horse that just won the Kentucky Derby, is favored to win the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico on May 17th. Most  Kentucky Derby winners are favored to win the Preakness. But perhaps Big Brown is even more deserving than past Preakness favorites. The unbeaten Big Brown proved quite a few people wrong on in the Derby. Many so called experts were not buying into Big Brown. They felt he was untested. They felt there were two many horses and variables in the Derby. They felt that the post position would hurt him. None of that mattered as the Derby favorite turned in a dominating performance.

But the Preakness won’t be a walk in the park. As a matter of fact, his trainer Rick Dutrow, who was so extremely confident heading into the Derby, is already quoted as saying “His next race is out of my hands because it’s coming in two weeks,” “The timing is not good for me. I love training a horse for a race, but I’m not going to have a chance to train him. I’m just going to kind of play around with him.”

And so, the drama begins. For the next two weeks we’ll experience a build up not unlike the Super Bowl. We’ll hear all the comparisons to Secretariat and other Triple Crown winners from yesteryear. We’ll hear from Rick Dutrow as he downplays his chances. We’ll hear from all the horse racing experts who will tell us why Big Brown is “great”, and we’ll hear from just as many experts who will tell us why he isn’t. All of which will mean nothing. They still have to run the race.

Run the race they will. May 17th, just as they do every year on the 3rd Saturday in May, they’ll run the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico and we’ll all tune in and watch on the edge of Our seats as this yearly drama plays out hoping the Derby winner can win this race and give us three more weeks of build up and speculation as we head to the Belmont.

Listed below are the last 10 Preakness Stakes Winners

2007 Curlin
      2006 Bernardini
       2005 Afleet Alex
         2004 Smarty Jones
       2003 Funny Cide
         2002 War Emblem
       2001 Point Given
     2000 Red Bullet
       1999 Charismatic
     1998 Real Quiet


Check out Our Preakness coverage

2008 Preakness Picks with Analysis

Triple Crown Winners

Triple Crown Odds

Current Preakness Odds

Preankess Notable Winners

Preakness Upset Prediction


Betonline Sportsbook - Fastest Payouts! #1 Rated Must Have Sportsbook! Click Here